Home Blog ICC Men’s Cricket World cup 2023

ICC Men’s Cricket World cup 2023

icc cricket world cup 2023

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of cricket World Cup. It’s a quadrennial one day international (ODI) that is organised by International Cricket Council (ICC). It is scheduled to be hosted by India from 5th October to 19th November 2023.

2023 World Cup overview

AdministratorInternational Cricket Council
Cricket FormatOne Day International
Selection ProcedureRound-Robin and Knockout
Opening Match05-Oct-23
Semi Final 1TBD
Semi Final 2TBD
Final Match19-Nov-23
Participants Teams10
Total Matches played48
Official Websitehttps://www.cricketworldcup.com/

Tournament Venues

There will be total 10 venues for match:

  • Hyderabad 
  • Ahmedabad 
  • Dharamsala
  • Delhi 
  • Chennai
  • Lucknow
  • Pune
  • Bengaluru
  • Mumbai 
  • Kolkata

Warm up matches venues

The warm up matches will be held from 29th sep 2023 to 3rd oct 2023 at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, Assam Cricket Association Stadium in Guwahati, and Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

How many teams are there in the ICC World Cup 2023?

10 teams are participating in this series.

Names of team for ICC World Cup 2023 (qualifiers)

  • India
  • England
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Afghanistan

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League – Standings

RankTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNo resultPointsNRRPenalty Overs
1New Zealand (Q)24165031750.9140
2England (Q)24158011550.9760
3Bangladesh (Q)24158011550.220
4Australia (Q)24159001500.7850
5Afghanistan (Q)24143011450.5730
6India (Q) (Hosts)24136021390.782-1
7Pakistan (Q)24138001300.1080
8South Africa (Q)249132298-0.077-2
9West Indies249150088-0.738-2
10Sri Lanka247140381-0.369-4

The top eight teams will qualify directly for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket Championship. The remaining teams will have to participate in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier with five affiliated teams. The teams from the qualifying tournament will then advance to the World Cup. India automatically qualified as the host of the tournament.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023 – All details

Who are the squad members of India in the One Day World Cup 2023?

It is predicted that players like Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Ravindra Jadeja, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, KS Bharat could be part of ICC World Cup 2023.

ICC Men's cricket world cup

Source: https://www.ak4tsay1.com

Who is the predicted squad for World Cup 2023 in Pakistan?

It is predicted that Pakistan will heavily rely on players like Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, and Mohammad Rizwan. Apart from these players Pakistan will also rely on young and trained players.

Source: google

South Africa Team Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Source: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/1Y9aU6aggxU/maxresdefault.jpg

New Zealand Team Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Australia Squad for ICC Men Cricket World Cup 2023

SOURCE: Google

Who are the squad members of Sri lanka?

The anticipated list of squad is Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc & wk), Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama (wk), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Dushan Hemantha.

Squad Members for West Indies

The anticipated list of squad is Shai Hope (c), Rovman Powell (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd.

Squad Members of ICC Men’s World Cup 2023

Rest of the team have not announced the squad members yet. While this reference picture will show some.

Source : https://i.ytimg.com/vi/sHuv4wfFp8w/maxresdefault.jpg

Cricket World Cup Winners

EditionICC World CupStarting DateFinal DateWinner TeamRunner-up Team
13th2023 ODI World CupOctober26/11/2023TBDTBD
12th2019Cricket World Cup30/05/201914/07/2019EnglandNew Zealand
11th2015  Cricket World Cup14/02/201529/03/2015AustraliaNew Zealand
10th2011  Cricket World Cup19/02/201102/04/2011IndiaSri Lanka
9th2007  Cricket World Cup13/03/200728/04/2007AustraliaSri Lanka
8th2003  Cricket World Cup09/02/200323/03/2003AustraliaIndia
7th1999  Cricket World Cup14/05/199920/06/1999AustraliaPakistan
6th1996  Cricket World Cup14/02/199617/03/1996Sri LankaAustralia
5th1992  Cricket World Cup22/02/199225/03/1992PakistanEngland
4th1987  Cricket World Cup08/10/198708/11/1987AustraliaEngland
3rd1983  5050 World Cup09/06/198325/06/1983IndiaWest Indies
2nd1979  Cricket WC09/06/197923/06/1979West IndiesEngland
1st1975  CWC07/06/197521/06/1975West IndiesAustralia 

Where is the 50 50 World Cup 2023?

The opening match of the 2023 World Cup will take place between defending champions England and New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which will also host the final. Although the country has hosted World Cup matches in the past, this is the first time India has hosted a 50-year-old World Cup independently.

Who has the broadcasting rights to the World Cup 2023?

Star Sports has the broadcast as well as digital rights for ICC Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 after it bagged the rights for all ICC events from 2015 to 2023.

Who are the commentators for Cricket World Cup 2023 (anticipated)?

The commentators for Cricket World Cup 2023 Harsha Bhogle, Ian Smith, Bazid Khan, Natalie Germanos, Mark Howard, Ian Bishop, Athar Ali Khan, Simon Doull, Russel Arnold, Danny Morrison and Mpumelelo Mbangwa will also form a part of the panel.

Who will stream World Cup 2023 in India?

Disney and Hotstar have announced earlier plans for this broadcast.

How many groups are in the 2023 World Cup?

Teams are divided into two groups comprising five on each side.

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 Jersey for all Squads

Have Not announced yet.

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 Logo 

Source: https://logowik.com/content/uploads/images/2023-icc-mens-cricket-world-cup7782.logowik.com.webp

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – ICC Ticket-Inclusive Packages

It can be purchased fromcricketworldcup.com. Also tickets will be sold at the venue gates each match day subject to availability.

Fixtures List for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Source: https://resources.pulse.icc-cricket.com/photo-resources/2023/07/13/4c1b9b02-5291-416b-b9e8-c708772589d5/CWC23-Fixtures-Full.jpg?width=1690 height=2113

Previous articleAsia Cup 2023: A Comprehensive Guide – (Date, Venue, Teams, Schedule, Squad Players)
Next articleAfghanistan Cricket Board Reveals 18-Member Squad for the Home ODI Series Against Pakistan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here